August 15, 2017 at 9:11pm

Long Gone, Not Forgotten

A few years ago, I was collecting all the Sandy Denny albums I could get my hands on. She died at the very young age of 31 in April 1978, as a result of complications from a fall down a staircase, hitting her head on concrete.

When I was collecting her albums, I don’t remember ever seeing any videos of her performing. That changed yesterday when I found this 1970 video of her performing four songs, including John the Gun, one of my favorites.

© 2017 by Ron Chester - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Fotheringay Live at The Beat Club 1970
00:00 Nothing More
04:52 Gypsy Davey
08:42 John The Gun
13:34 Too Much Of Nothing

John the Gun Lyrics
My shadow follows me
Wherever I should chance to go
John The Gun did say
’’If you should chance to meet me
As I wander to and fro
Sad would be your day”

Put away your guns of steel
Death comes too soon for all
Your Master He may need you soon
And you must heed His call

My life is mine my gun did shine
To take what goes before me
Never shall I fall
Ideals of peace are gold
Which fools have found
Upon the plains of war
I shall destroy them all

Put away your guns of steel
Death comes too soon for all
Your Master He may need you soon
And you must heed His call

I am the master of the games
That you will hardly ever play
So I will teach your sons
And if they should die
Before the evening of their span of days
Why will they die

Put away your guns of steel
Death comes too soon for all
Your Master He may need you soon
And you must heed His call

Condemn me not
For always will I play the game of war
In moonshine or in sun
If any cross the path I choose to tread
Their chances they are poor
My name is John The Gun

Put away your guns of steel
Death comes too soon for all
Your Master He may need you soon
And you must heed His call

Sandy Denny, Chipstead Street, London 1972 by Jon Lyons
Sandy Denny, Chipstead Street, London 1972 by Jon Lyons


images music


Previous post
Using Footnotes in Blot I’ve been working my way through the various features of Blot, taking Baby Steps, and having a pretty easy time of it. After it was so easy to get
Next post
Posting Pictures on Microblog In the first few days of my being on Microbog, I noticed people posting images, so I asked how I could do that. The answer was, “Use the app.” I